Tropical Islands, Vibrant Nightlife, Amazing Culture Travel Thailand Welcome to the Land of Smiles

Thailand Full Moon Party at Koh Phangan

▶ Full Moon Party - Haadrin Beach Koh Phangan

Koh Phangan is a very special place, there are few places in this world where you can live out your desert island dreams of palm trees and white sand beaches, and still have a blinding night out at a rocking party every month. With the global notoriety that the Full Moon Party has gained as being one of the biggest and best beach bashes in the world, we get more than our fair share of hedonists gracing our shores. Each year the scene here grows with the ever-increasing number of party faithful that return, bringing their mates and spreading the vibe.

Haad Rin is home to the Full Moon Party and also houses about 3-5000 rather mad people; it is the island's nightlife capital and has Koh Phangan's biggest concentration of beach clubs that collectively put on the ultimate travellers get together. There are over 12 major sound systems running the length of Had Rin beach, catering for 8000 to 12,000 punters in low season, 15,000 to 20,000 in high season and up to 30,000 at New Year. Within this transient crowd of party animals some highly talented DJ's pass through, banging out their wares to the raging lunar explorers that have landed on planet party.

The party kicks off early evening with a lot of people arriving after ten o’clock when locals and brave-or-inebriated visitors try their skills at skipping the fire swing – a petrol-doused rope swung by two pretty strong guys. Youngsters swing ‘fire sticks’ and revellers applaud their skills and sometimes try a few tricks themselves.

The chosen drink of the night is almost invariably a ‘bucket’ consisting of a ‘mickey’ of either whisky, vodka or sugarcane rum, a bottle of Red Bull and ice, sold along with a handful of straws so that friends (and sometimes complete strangers) can share. Noisy vendors line the streets and the beach, selling these colourful and cheap creations.

The entertainment options are enormous: You can mellow out at a hillside bar and watch the frolics from a safe distance or you can climb onto a dancing platform directly in the line of fire of huge speakers or dance in the sand, flop about in the sea, wander into town for a snack or – if it all gets too much – collapse in the free-of-charge sleeping area and tent.

As for the music, just about everyone agrees that it’s definitely hit and miss with bedroom DJs next to professional mixers and scratchers. Still, by the early hours the whole beach is dancing, wandering around in a haze and enjoying life while those that took it a little easier fare better than the heavy early-evening drinkers and it’s all worth it once the eastern skyline starts to glow and the sun rises.

▶ Transfers to/from Koh Phangan

A speedboat leaves Big Buddha Pier from 03.00 pm until 12:00 am every hour. Return transfers from Koh Phangan are available from 11:00 pm until 08:00 am every hour. The round trip transfer price is THB 1000.00

▶ Full Moon Dates 2012-13

Saturday 04 August 2012
Saturday 01 September 2012
Sunday 30 September 2012
Tuesday 30 October 2012
Wednesday 28 November 2012
Tuesday 25 December 2012
Friday 28 December 2012
Monday 31 December 2012
Saturday 26 January 2013
Tuesday 26 February 2013
Tuesday 26 March 2013
Thursday 25 April 2013
Saturday 25 May 2013
Sunday 23 June 2013
Wednesday 24 July 2013
Wednesday 21 August 2013
Thursday 19 September 2013
Saturday 19 October 2013
Sunday 17 November 2013
Tuesday 17 December 2013
Wednesday 25 December 2013
Tuesday 31 December 2013

Saturday, December 07, 2019